Skip to content

Secure Messages

The Secure Messages tab provides access to the Secure Messages email client add-ins and web portal.

To access the Secure Messages tab:

  1. Go to the Email Security configuration page.

  2. Select the Secure Messages tab:

    Secure Messages

Prerequisites

The Secure Messages tab is only enabled if the Secure Messages add-on is enabled for your workspace.

Secure Messages service

Secure Messages is a sender-to-recipient email encryption service that offers a secure digital messaging system that transforms how you communicate, collaborate, and share data with your customers and business partners. Secure Messages utilizes AES-256 symmetric encryption, which initiates as soon as a message is sent. The same encryption key is used for both encryption and decryption. The Secure Messages add-in is available for Microsoft Outlook 365 and Gmail.

Secure Messages enables you to send sensitive information and documents using a robust 2-part encryption mechanism, recipient-only access to messages, certified proof of email delivery, and built-in anti-malware verification. While anyone with a valid email address can create a Secure Messages account to receive and reply to secure messages, only protected users within a Coro workspace can compose and forward messages.

Reminder

Protected users: Users that have been explicitly added to Coro for protection by an admin user, either individually or as part of a user group from a connected cloud application.

Message settings

In Message settings, you can add workspace-level restrictions for secure messages sent by all protected users:

Secure Messages settings

Protected users can also configure these restrictions on an individual message basis, but only if workspace-level restrictions are not configured. For more information, see Composing messages.

Coro provides the following restrictions:

  • Restrict message forwarding: If enabled, the recipient cannot forward the secure message to a third party.

  • Set message expiration period (days): By default, Coro auto-expires all secure messages after 90 days. Enable this setting to apply a shorter expiry period to your users' secure messages (up to 90 days).

    Secure messages are available for viewing only within the expiration period. After this, the content is permanently deleted and no longer accessible by either the recipient or sender. The recipient's received email notification continues to exist in their inbox, but the link is rendered invalid.

    Coro cannot recover expired secure message content.

    Changes to expiration settings apply only to new composed messages. Existing messages expire according to the period set when they were sent.

To learn more about using Secure Messages: